ICN Elects New President

Rosemary Bryant, outstanding nursing leader nationally and internationally, has been elected as the 26th President of the International Council of Nurses (ICN).

The election took place in the context of ICN’s governing body meeting, the Council of National Representatives (CNR), during the 24th ICN Quadrennial Congress in Durban, South Africa. More than five thousand nurses from 134 countries gathered at the Congress, ICN’s first on the African continent. Of the 5,000 nurses attending, 3,300 are from the African continent.

Rosemary Bryant, Commonwealth Chief Nurse and Midwifery Officer for Australia, served as Second Vice President of the International Council of Nurses from 2005 to 2009. She was formerly Executive Director of Royal College of Nursing, Australia, a position she held for eight years. She has had a broad career in acute hospital and community nursing, as well as in government relations. Executive positions she has held include director of nursing in both a community nursing organisation and a large acute teaching hospital and the chief government nursing position in the state of Victoria, Australia. She also spent some time in private consulting undertaking projects on nursing and health. During this time she was a consultant to the World Health Organization.

Ms Bryant has had a wide experience in policy development both in nursing and the broader health sector. Her academic interests revolve around the regulation of health professionals, having had practical experience as a member of three nurse regulatory bodies.

ICN Board of Directors
New members of the ICN Board were also elected at the Council of National Representatives meeting, including Sylvia Denton (United Kingdom), Marion Guy (New Zealand), Masako Kanai-Pak (Japan), Elizabeth Oywer (Kenya), Maria Angela Elias Marroquin (El Salvador), Peter Pozun (Slovenia); Marlene Smadu (Canada) and Maria Augusta Sousa (Portugal).

Current Board members who will serve another four-year term include: Rudolph Cini (Malta), Anna Karin Eklund (Sweden), William Holzemer (USA), Julita Sansoni, (Italy) Beatríz Carvallo Suaréz (Colombia) and Teresa J.C. Yin (Taiwan)


Read all latest stories

Related articles


Article •

Diverse views, similar aims

The 1st European Hospital Conference (EHC) will see three important organisations face up to their differences in what promises to be a great debate: During our interview with Dr João de Deus,…


Article •

The 1st European Hospital Conference

Visiting European healthcare professionals will be able to enter a strong debate on hospital-related politics as well as medical and economic issues at MEDICA this year when the 1st European Hospital…

Article •

Experts fear for Europe’s medical engineering

When over 3,000 international experts gathered at the World Congress on Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering in Munich, Germany to evaluate future trends, they heard that Asia is showing major…

Subscribe to Newsletter